23
Jul
15

certainly, boys, what else? the piper pays him

IMG_2902 They say that a well-designed test allows students to learn; it is also a maxim of teachers that we learn from our students. In my case, not only did my students learn through their final projects; my students taught me. In an AP English class, each writer not only shared her concluding written work of the semester, but also responded aloud to two or three other students who shared. Time and again I was stymied by the perceptive and encouraging remarks students summoned within themselves in response to peers’ writing. They noticed things that I had completely overlooked because of my myopic view: I was so focused on completing my own suggested sentence stems in order to provide “useful” and immediate feedback, I ignored the artistry and voice of each writer.  IMG_2919 I learn that isolated teacher comments are such limited, fluttering birds, they ought not survive long outside the nest of writer’s conference; but with words young writers say about their own work and problem-solving, and with the addition of multiple responders, a teacher comment may contribute usefully to a healthy flock of writers in flight.   In other classes, a research paper took students into unfamiliar territory as they explored writing in a genre they were curious about. Not only did reflective letters report enjoyment and learning, but I also found in the student journals, original writing and letters implicit critiques of existing genre limitations. “This genre had no color”. “This genre had no images.” “This genre had no visuals–I am a visual learner, so I created charts and diagrams to go with my subject.” I learn that the teachers I know communicate predominantly with words. What would it look like if even my instructions to myself – lesson plans, notes, to-do lists – began to take the form of “back-of-the-napkin”, Creativity Core, and aphasia communication book tools? Would my own thinking change? Thanks to my students, as I plunge into summer learning and pedagogical refreshers, I am particularly attentive to simplifying the way I communicate my ideas. Can I express this idea in a color, shape, or sound? How about a texture, object, or fragrance?  

This means a new relationship between audience and purpose: even when I intend mainly highly verbal people like myself as readers or users of a list, article, journal entry, or letter, how does my own thinking change shape, take form and emerge as an expression of myself if I let go of genre conventions I feel most in control of?

My students yet again remind me to yield up control. Just as T.S. Eliot needed to find a new language for poetry that would speak to his culture, they seek rich and meaningful expressions that modify existing genres and invent new ones for this era. Instead of feeling like “I’m done” at the end of this school year, I am singing “We’ve Only Just Begun”.

I have even begun to record notes for a summer school class I am taking in colored pencil. Here are the results:

IMG_0002IMG_0003

What are you doing in your content area or personal writing to implicitly or explicitly invite your students to contribute their voices and to become resistant to static forms? [Images: Communication Board, “Activities To Share” at Activitiestoshare.co.uk; student cover by TM; Unfamiliar genre page by MC.]

0 Responses to “certainly, boys, what else? the piper pays him”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Gordon’s Tweets

RSS Good Questions

  • Guided Discovery Lesson Plan: Cubbies November 9, 2015
    This lesson introduces students to the their classroom cubbies. The lesson allows the class as a whole to determine what is the appropriate use of a cubby and how to best care for them. What is a Guided Discovery? It is a student-centered … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Guided Discovery Lesson Plan: Freeze Signal November 6, 2015
    The Freeze Signal is used to communicate to students that they should suddenly stop what they are doing and pay attention to the teacher.  I consider it an important safety measure.  Personally, I use a singing bowl, but I have seen teachers use … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • What is this Maker Movement? February 12, 2015
    I am a maker.  At least I think I am.  I sew. I blog. I cook. I bind books. I built a deck with my dad. Is that what people mean when they talk about ‘making?’ When I hear people … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Let the Planning Begin – Tools for Success August 13, 2013
    Procrastination finally comes to an end. Today I begin the work of plotting out the first few days (and weeks) of school. While the students are out shopping for school supplies (which induce panic attacks in me), I pull out … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Story Starters August 9, 2013
    This is a first for me.  I have been contacted by SmileMakers to preview one of their products, of my own choosing.  As an avid writing teacher, and a writer myself, I chose to review their Story Starter Word Cubes. … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Teachers Love Tech August 3, 2013
    My love for tech begins at a personal level.  I plan my life (and my lessons) on iCalendar. I create invites, worksheets, game handouts and more with Word and/or Pages.  All of my music comes from the web (check out … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Math Game: Hangmath October 8, 2011
    What is it? Hangmath is paper and pencil game similar to Hangman.  Players take turns creating two-digit addition problems, which the other player guesses. Rationale: Hangmath reinforces place value concepts because the Magical Minds must ask questions about the digits … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Studying Systems October 7, 2011
    SYSTEM: a set of connected things or parts that form a complex whole. The Magical Minds are investigating different kinds of systems.  We started by looking at smaller systems, things we could find in the classroom. We began to expand … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Reading: Understanding Genre Help Us Make Predictions October 6, 2011
    Today we began to think about how to use what we know about genre to make predictions about our books. To illustrate this point we compared nonfiction and fiction books. We already know that nonfiction books are full of information, … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Math Game: Foreheaded (place value) October 5, 2011
    What is it? In this game each player receives a mystery three-digit number, which they place on their forehead.  Using a guide sheet (below), players take turns guessing the digits in their numbers. Rationale: This game allows the Magical Minds … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz

