21
Aug
14

Back to School? Back to Action

Back to school. Tell myself I am going to implement all the new ideas from the summer, and keep all the old ones that worked last year. Follow through with the writing conference plan, the reading conference plan, the socratic seminars, the film unit, the nonfiction readings that connect perfectly with the literature.

I will have three glorious weeks–students on good behavior, myself carving time at lunch to meet with anyone who hasn’t brought homework in to share, at night to respond in student logs–before I begin to doubt.

20140616-081147-29507114.jpg

Then around week four I turn to look behind me and realize that my start-of-the-year plans have shifted, and like Young Jerry in A Tale of Two Cities I am running like mad to get back home to comfortable, predictable terrain while every moment I keep watching over my shoulder for the casket’s approach. The upended casket chasing me down is the death of my goal to reach the ideal. I look ahead of me and realize that there are still many months ahead in which to make things right and achieve a balance. I will fix it later, I tell myself. For now it is best that the students are utterly engaged, there is momentum, variety, …but could it be better? Always.

No matter what specific plans we want to implement at the start of the year, something will cause us to question our pace, our expectation.

What can I do now to prepare for that panicked feeling of being chased down by the dire coffin of standards, lockstepped curriculum, unpredictable students, and self-doubt?

Enter Quality Control.

There are a few things I can do to help ensure peace of mind before, during, and after tumult. Listen.

Listen to the voices of those trusted colleagues with whom I share a Tweet, a prep period, an interest, or a professional goal…

Hear the voices ringing with divine authority in my early morning reading–The Psalmist, The Revelator, the robin, rain, and mockingbird outside my window…

Surround myself with prophetic and quotidian detail and texture, from Shakespeare’s poetry to the rattle of a cereal spoon, from Art Pepper’s jazz recordings to paintings by Bill Reed and Noah Buchanan.

Step back in order to honor, serve, and acknowledge the most significant voices that shape my life, beginning with my wife, Sara. Trust that my parents or guardians, sisters, family,teachers, mentors and friends do not suddenly lose their influence when I step across the threshold into the claassroom, but that in a mysterious way I become an extension of them: they become my students’ teachers.

These are my quality controls, a powerful webwork of capillaries and conduits that are my feedback system and nourishment.

And yesterday I was reminded of my most immediate monitoring system: the students before my eyes and ears at any moment in the day. Pat, who will be a sophomore when classes begin next week, took a moment after having organized a bookshelf display for me, along with another volleyball team member, to tell me her writing goal for the next three years and to ask my help in reaching her goal.

I can thing of no stronger inner impulse to directly affect my teaching than students striving for personal goals. Such goals provide a focus for writing conferences, not merely a schedule; and when students see those conferences as intrinsically rewarding because linked to a chosen purpose for learning, my own satisfaction with them will result in increased attention to, insistence on, and frequency of scheduled goal-oriented instruction.

Detractors might argue that literature study needs no articulated goal, and that pragmatism and poetry must be far removed. They might also say that a sophomore is unlikely to stick to a single goal for any extended time. But they would miss the point that at every minute of our teaching day we have such voices speaking into our lives, and that to give such voices authority in our classrooms is to give us direction and feedback that informs our instruction. That students have such goals: this is what I want; there need be no fear that I will neglect the “uselessness” of literature. It will be celebrated in my classroom with cakes and ale until they drag my bones from the portable, still clutching a worn copy of the Pelican Twelfth Night.

Immersed in a secret pool of divine, human, and oracular voices I may escape the dire fear that threatens to drown my best intentions in self-doubt. Who are the voices speaking to you, sustaining your practice and your vitality?

[Image: Cruikshank’s illustration, scanned by Allingham, at Victorian Web, http://www.victorianweb.org/art/illustration/2cities/13.1.html%5D

0 Responses to “Back to School? Back to Action”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Gordon’s Tweets

RSS Good Questions

  • Guided Discovery Lesson Plan: Cubbies November 9, 2015
    This lesson introduces students to the their classroom cubbies. The lesson allows the class as a whole to determine what is the appropriate use of a cubby and how to best care for them. What is a Guided Discovery? It is a student-centered … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Guided Discovery Lesson Plan: Freeze Signal November 6, 2015
    The Freeze Signal is used to communicate to students that they should suddenly stop what they are doing and pay attention to the teacher.  I consider it an important safety measure.  Personally, I use a singing bowl, but I have seen teachers use … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • What is this Maker Movement? February 12, 2015
    I am a maker.  At least I think I am.  I sew. I blog. I cook. I bind books. I built a deck with my dad. Is that what people mean when they talk about ‘making?’ When I hear people … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Let the Planning Begin – Tools for Success August 13, 2013
    Procrastination finally comes to an end. Today I begin the work of plotting out the first few days (and weeks) of school. While the students are out shopping for school supplies (which induce panic attacks in me), I pull out … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Story Starters August 9, 2013
    This is a first for me.  I have been contacted by SmileMakers to preview one of their products, of my own choosing.  As an avid writing teacher, and a writer myself, I chose to review their Story Starter Word Cubes. … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Teachers Love Tech August 3, 2013
    My love for tech begins at a personal level.  I plan my life (and my lessons) on iCalendar. I create invites, worksheets, game handouts and more with Word and/or Pages.  All of my music comes from the web (check out … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Math Game: Hangmath October 8, 2011
    What is it? Hangmath is paper and pencil game similar to Hangman.  Players take turns creating two-digit addition problems, which the other player guesses. Rationale: Hangmath reinforces place value concepts because the Magical Minds must ask questions about the digits … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Studying Systems October 7, 2011
    SYSTEM: a set of connected things or parts that form a complex whole. The Magical Minds are investigating different kinds of systems.  We started by looking at smaller systems, things we could find in the classroom. We began to expand … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Reading: Understanding Genre Help Us Make Predictions October 6, 2011
    Today we began to think about how to use what we know about genre to make predictions about our books. To illustrate this point we compared nonfiction and fiction books. We already know that nonfiction books are full of information, … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Math Game: Foreheaded (place value) October 5, 2011
    What is it? In this game each player receives a mystery three-digit number, which they place on their forehead.  Using a guide sheet (below), players take turns guessing the digits in their numbers. Rationale: This game allows the Magical Minds … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz

