08
Mar
13

What We Lost

I like to think of myself as embracing digital technology. At parent teacher conferences last night I faced a parent who claimed how confusing it was for her child to navigate the electronic expectations of class – sometimes requiring a response to a Tweet, or logging in to Edmodo, the educational site where students can see and turn in homework assignments, grab quick links, or review or post files. In a paperless classroom, technology is an invaluable friend. But my response last night belied my true colors; I silently and, occasionally volubly, curse this cloud of blessing.

   Take iTunes: we had uploaded our entire music library to the Cloud last spring as we installed a new Mac desktop and consigned the old PC to its rightful place in the recycle mill. This week, however, yearning to hear a little Mozart played by its best practitioner of his piano repertoire, Alicia de Larrocha, I threw up my hands when I couldn’t retrieve a collection of his piano sonatas I had downloaded as a purchase this summer. Unwilling to accept its loss, I sighed, groaned, and wished for the halcyon days when my mom would return from a trip to Zody’s with the latest Partidge Family vinyl album: it would rest in the record bin we had at home, cared for with a special anti-static red cloth, and as long as I kept it out of the sun, it would play whenever I chose to toss it onto the turntable. This whole Cloud business is for the birds, I deemed. Image

   Then, this morning as I was reading Kierkegaard’s Either/Or in anticipation of St. John tutor Richard McCombs’s newly released ____ , which will arrive by post any day, I read this sentence:  “With his Don Giovanni, Mozart enters the rank of those immortals, of those visibly transfigured ones, whom no cloud takes away from the eyes of men…” I was seized by a sudden impulse to locate my Alicia recordings, and went to the computer. Image

   Behold! Her name was at the top of the iTunes page already open when I struck the spacebar to reawaken the Mac. Clicking on it, and selecting the first track, I was able to hear the first notes of the allegro movement of Piano Sonata K.283, and the clouds were rolled away.   

   What I had lost is suddenly found; I am not ashamed of the Cloud, but feel sheepish or having doubted. I had pretty much said “Unless I place my hands in the groove of his andante, I will not believe.” What a fool this mortal be. 

   What I thought we had lost, besides a few tracks of Mozart, was a peace of mind that came with de-cluttering the house last year, pitching the concrete (CDs, bound books) in favor of cloud storage. Fortunately, we now have a collection of the most sublime music, interpreted by an inspired musician; we have peace. And by the way, we also have a new cover and title for Sara Zarr’s novel – What We Lost (formerly Once Was Lost). When you think something is gone, you really appreciate it fully when it reappears after an absence.   

(Photo credits: What We Lost copyright Little, Brown; McCombs copyright Indiana University Press)

1 Response to “What We Lost”


  1. 1 Sara Z.
    March 8, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Oh you think we are done decluttering? Cute. (I love this post and am glad the Mozart turned up!)


Leave a Reply

Gordon’s Tweets

RSS Good Questions

  • Guided Discovery Lesson Plan: Cubbies November 9, 2015
    This lesson introduces students to the their classroom cubbies. The lesson allows the class as a whole to determine what is the appropriate use of a cubby and how to best care for them. What is a Guided Discovery? It is a student-centered … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Guided Discovery Lesson Plan: Freeze Signal November 6, 2015
    The Freeze Signal is used to communicate to students that they should suddenly stop what they are doing and pay attention to the teacher.  I consider it an important safety measure.  Personally, I use a singing bowl, but I have seen teachers use … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • What is this Maker Movement? February 12, 2015
    I am a maker.  At least I think I am.  I sew. I blog. I cook. I bind books. I built a deck with my dad. Is that what people mean when they talk about ‘making?’ When I hear people … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Let the Planning Begin – Tools for Success August 13, 2013
    Procrastination finally comes to an end. Today I begin the work of plotting out the first few days (and weeks) of school. While the students are out shopping for school supplies (which induce panic attacks in me), I pull out … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Story Starters August 9, 2013
    This is a first for me.  I have been contacted by SmileMakers to preview one of their products, of my own choosing.  As an avid writing teacher, and a writer myself, I chose to review their Story Starter Word Cubes. … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Teachers Love Tech August 3, 2013
    My love for tech begins at a personal level.  I plan my life (and my lessons) on iCalendar. I create invites, worksheets, game handouts and more with Word and/or Pages.  All of my music comes from the web (check out … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Math Game: Hangmath October 8, 2011
    What is it? Hangmath is paper and pencil game similar to Hangman.  Players take turns creating two-digit addition problems, which the other player guesses. Rationale: Hangmath reinforces place value concepts because the Magical Minds must ask questions about the digits … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Studying Systems October 7, 2011
    SYSTEM: a set of connected things or parts that form a complex whole. The Magical Minds are investigating different kinds of systems.  We started by looking at smaller systems, things we could find in the classroom. We began to expand … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Reading: Understanding Genre Help Us Make Predictions October 6, 2011
    Today we began to think about how to use what we know about genre to make predictions about our books. To illustrate this point we compared nonfiction and fiction books. We already know that nonfiction books are full of information, … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz
  • Math Game: Foreheaded (place value) October 5, 2011
    What is it? In this game each player receives a mystery three-digit number, which they place on their forehead.  Using a guide sheet (below), players take turns guessing the digits in their numbers. Rationale: This game allows the Magical Minds … Continue reading →
    Erin Mahollitz

